and despite being gazatted in 1852 as the township of Darlington, the name Elephant Bridge
persisted for many years. Stock crossed the Mount Emu Creek using a rough ford before a bridge was constructed in the 1840s. After flood destroyed the original bridge in 1870, its replacement was a erected around 1894 and its beautiful stonework still stands as a memorial to the early stonemasons.
As a crossing place, Darlington boasted two stores, a blacksmith’s shop, tannery, bakery, Post Office, school Presbyterian Church, saddlers and a brick kiln.
There were three inns of substance and bricks from the kiln were used in the construction of the only remaining hosteiry - Elephant Bridge Hotel. It’s license dates back to 1842 although the present building was constructed in 1855, It is believed to be one of the oldest continuously licensed hotels in Victoria.
Drought and fire have had a major effect on the Western Plains and surrounding district. The 1944 and 1977 fires destroyed many buildings and forced many farmers to sell their properties and leave the district.
If you are touring the Western Plains take time to Visit the Elephant Bridge Hotel next to the original bridge abutments, also the Western Cloven Hills Wool shed which was built in 1851.( Inspection by appointment only).
Elephant Bridge Hotel Hamilton Highway Darlington ( 03 ) 5597 9231.
Darlington Hotel (03) 5597 9231.
Derrinallum Hotel / Motel(03) 5597 6641.
Lawton & Margaret French "rockbank" Derrinallum ( 03 ) 5597 6626.
Alistair & Caroline Gleeson "Ettrick" Camperdown ( 03 ) 5597 0212.
Lyle & Elsbeth Buntine "Bellevue"Darlington ( 03 ) 5597 9262.
The "Elms" Derrinallum (03) 5597 6517.
Yellangip Country HousePura Pura Rd DarlingtonVic 3271TEL: (03) 5597-9203.
.© The Gateway BBS Camperdown Authors:Anton Art & John Hamilton